Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Annotated Bibliography Definition
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations of sources; i.e. books, articles, or web sources. Each source includes a brief description that summarizes the source and an evaluation which tells the reader about its relevancy to a research paper’s topic, its accuracy, and its quality.
For more information, please refer to the following websites:
- Purdue OWL: Annotated BibliographiesProvides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS.
- Cornell University Library: How to Prepare an Annotated BibliographyExplanation, Process, Directions, and Examples
Suggested Resources
The Penguin Handbook by
The Penguin Handbook has established itself as the best-selling handbook to enter the market in eighteen years. The design and approach of The Penguin Handbook started with ideas and suggestions from real students, and thus it is uniquely successful when it comes to giving students the information they need in a format they will actually use. With unique visual guides and models for writing, research, and documentation, distinctive coverage of writing for different purposes, and Lester Faigley's clear, accessible explanations, The Penguin Handbook makes it simple for students to achieve success in their composition classes.
Call Number: PE1408 .F25 2012
Sample APA Annotation from Purdue OWL
The annotation below both summarizes and assesses the book in the citation. The first paragraph provides a brief summary of the author's project in the book, covering the main points of the work. The second paragraph points out the project’s strengths and evaluates its methods and presentation. This particular annotation does not reflect on the source’s potential importance or usefulness for this person’s own research.
Ehrenreich, B. (2001) Nickel and dimed: On (not) getting by in America. New York, NY:
Henry Holt and Company.
In this book of nonfiction based on the journalist's experiential research, Ehrenreich attempts to ascertain whether it is currently possible for an individual to live on a minimum-wage in America. Taking jobs as a waitress, a maid in a cleaning service, and a Walmart sales employee, the author summarizes and reflects on her work, her relationships with fellow workers, and her financial struggles in each situation.
An experienced journalist, Ehrenreich is aware of the limitations of her experiment and the ethical implications of her experiential research tactics and reflects on these issues in the text. The author is forthcoming about her methods and supplements her experiences with scholarly research on her places of employment, the economy, and the rising cost of living in America. Ehrenreich’s project is timely, descriptive, and well-researched.