LibGuides: Instructional Resources: Library Resource Permalinks

Need Help?

Phone or E-mail
FAQ
Video Tutorials

For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.

Library Resource Permalinks

A permalink (or persistent URL) is a stable web address that will not change over time. Depending on the database, you will either need to locate the permalink (also called: document url, record url, etc.) or convert the URL using the VCCS URL Conversion Tool. In some cases, you will need to do a little of both. The locations and "exceptions" that require additional instructions to convert the URL are listed below.

NOTE: This list is updated as we learn of changes or new "exceptions". Since we may be unaware of a change, please contact your Campus Library if you are having trouble locating the permalink or converting the URL.

The following list of databases provide platform specific permalinks that do not require conversion.

EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new window
The EBSCO platform requires that you use their Permalink. Locate the article/source Permalink in the Tools column of the record.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand requires that you use their permalink, called a Record URL. Click Embed/Link to display the Record or Segment URL.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies requires that you use their permalink, called a Record URL. Locate the Record URL at the very bottom of the article/source.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR requires that you use their persistent link, called a Stable URL. Locate the URL in the left information column.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints requires that you use their permalink, called a Bookmark. Locate the article/source Bookmark above the Tools box of the record.
ProQuest - All Databases This link opens in a new window
The Proquest platform (40+ databases) requires that you use their permalink, called a Document URL. From the Abstract/Details tab, locate the Document URL towards the bottom of the record.

The following list of databases are known exceptions that require either an extra step(s) before conversion or a different proxy prefix. Additionally, these links may break if the database vendor makes changes to their URL configuration. It is recommended that you test these links regularly to ensure they are working properly.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
From image results page, copy the image URL. Add the following prefix to the front of the URL: http://eznvcc.vccs.edu:2048/login?url=
Additionally, ARTstor images are discoverable in JSTOR which provides a Remote Access URL.
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window
Copy the link address from the Share icon. Add the following prefix to the front of the URL: http://eznvcc.vccs.edu:2048/login?url=
Chronicle of Higher Education (Web Edition) This link opens in a new window
Right click on URL and copy link address. Add the following prefix to the front of the URL: http://eznvcc.vccs.edu:2048/login?url=
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Locate the 'Share' icon within the article record. Copy and paste the recommended URL. Add the following prefix to the front of the URL: http://eznvcc.vccs.edu:2048/login?url=
Ovid: Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In the selected chapter, locate and click on the Email Jumpstart link in the top right corner. Convert this URL using the VCCS URL Conversion Tool.
Ovid: Journals This link opens in a new window
Locate the Email Jumpstart link within the article record. Convert this URL using the VCCS URL Conversion Tool.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Right click on DOI URL (located underneath the article title) and copy link address. Add the following prefix to the front of the URL: http://eznvcc.vccs.edu:2048/login?url=

More Information about Permalinks

Why do we need permalinks?

Creating a permalink ensures that the link will work when you try to use it later, and will be accessible from off-campus.

When you do a search in a database, the database creates a link to the article on the fly. This means that the link for that article could change every time you try to access it. You can imagine the frustration students feel when they're given a link and told to read the corresponding article before the next class, only to find that the link is broken.

What can I do with permalinks?

Depending on the catalog or database, you can create links to add to canvas, email, web pages, internet favorite (bookmark), etc.. Here's a list of ways you might use permalinks:

listings for books, e-books, or DVDs owned by NOVA libraries
individual articles
all available contents of a journal
search results
specific chapters/sections in e-books

Once the link is created, simply click on it or paste it into your browser to read the article. If you are on campus, the link should automatically open the designated article, results list, or chapter. From off campus, you must first log in with a myNOVA userID and password. Those who are not members of the NOVA community will not be able to access the information from off campus.

Remember: Licensing agreements restrict off campus access to most of the online databases to NOVA students, faculty, and staff. This is why a login is required.

When sharing/posting a permalink, you should include complete citation information with the link. This may include the title, author, publication title, volume & issue number (if applicable), year, page numbers, the database in which you found the information, and the date on which you accessed it. Not only does this comply with copyright requirements, but it also provides the information you'll need to track down the article should a link become inaccessible.