Skip to Main Content

Instructional Resources

This guide was created by librarians to support faculty in their teaching. Direct comments to LibraryWeb@nvcc.edu

Need Help?

Phone or E-mail
FAQ
Video Tutorials

For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.

Library Resources in Canvas

Bring the library to your students. Use this guide to find information on how to add library resources to your Canvas course. You can even add a librarian to your course to assist in integrating library resources and connecting with students for research assignments.

NOTE: The 'Ask a Librarian' 24/7 Chat Service is available from the Help icon on the global navigation bar for Canvas.

Add a Library Resource in Canvas

Add a permanent link to a library resource (book, eBook, article, streaming video, or database) in Canvas that your students can access both on or off campus. Choose your library resource and follow the instructions below.

NOTE: If you cannot locate the permalink, instructions to convert the library resource URL to a persistent link and other exceptions can be found at Library Resource Permalinks.

Add a Link to a Book in Canvas:

  1. Search for your book in the Library Catalog.
  2. Click on the image or title of the book to view the full record and select the permalink icon within the 'Send To' options.

  1. Use the copied link to create the book link in Canvas. This URL has a built-in code that will allow off-campus access.
  • In the Course Module, click + to add a new item
  • Use the drop-down box to select Add External URL
  • Paste the copied URL from book record
  • Add a page name 
  • Check the box to 'Load in a new tab'
  • Click Add Item to save

Add a Link to an eBook in Canvas:

  1. Search for your book in the Library Catalog.
  2. Click on the image or title of the eBook to view the full record and select the Online access link.

  1. From the database eBook record, select the permalink icon () from the toolbar menu, i.e. Ebsco databases, or the 'Share Link to Book' icon   (), i.e. Proquest databases.

NOTE: If you cannot locate the permalink, instructions to convert the eBook URL to a persistent link and other exceptions can be found at Library Resource Permalinks.

  1. Use the copied link to create the eBook link in Canvas. This URL has a built-in code that will allow off-campus access.
  • In the Course Module, click + to add a new item
  • Use the drop-down box to select Add External URL
  • Paste the copied URL from the eBook record
  • Add a page name 
  • Check the box to choose to load in a new tab
  • Click Add Item to save

Add a Link to an Article in Canvas:

  1. Search for your article in the library databases [Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z] and locate the article you want to add.
  2. Click on the article title to view the full record and select the permalink icon [ ] from the toolbar menu, i.e. Ebsco databases, the bookmark icon [  ] , i.e. Gale databases, or select Details to view the Document URL, i.e. ProQuest databases.

NOTE: If you cannot locate the permalink, instructions to convert the article URL to a persistent link and other exceptions can be found at Library Resource Permalinks.

  1. Use the copied link to create the article link in Canvas. This URL has a built-in code that will allow off-campus access.
  • In the Course Module, click + to add a new item
  • Use the drop-down box to select Add External URL
  • Paste the copied URL from the article record
  • Add a page name 
  • Check the box to choose to load in a new tab
  • Click Add Item to save

Add a Link or Embed a Streaming Video in Canvas:

  1. Search for the video you want to add in the Library Catalog or search directly in a streaming video database.
  2. Click on the video image or title to view the full record and select the embed/link icon [ ], i.e. Films on Demand and Alexander Street, or the share icon [  ] to share the link or embed, i.e. Kanopy.

NOTE: If you cannot locate the permalink or embed functions, please contact your Campus Library for assistance.

  1. Use the copied link to create the video link in Canvas. This URL has a built-in code that will allow off-campus access.
  • In the Course Module, click + to add a new item
  • Use the drop-down box to select Add External URL
  • Paste the copied URL from the article record
  • Add a page name 
  • Check the box to choose to load in a new tab
  • Click Add Item to save
  1. Use the copied embed code to embed the video in Canvas.
  • In the Course Module, click the Pages link
  • To select a page from the Pages Index, click the View All Pages button and click the title of the page you want to open
  • Click the Edit button
  • Click the HTML Editor link
  • Paste the copied embed code from the video record
  • Click Save

Add a Link to a Database in Canvas:

  1. Navigate to Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z and locate the database you want to add.
  2. Right Click on the name of the database and select:
  • "Copy Link Address" in Chrome
  • "Copy Shortcut" in Internet Explorer
  • "Copy Link Location" in Firefox
  • "Copy Link" in Safari
  1. Use the copied link to create the database link in Canvas. This URL has a built-in code that will allow off-campus access.
  • In the Course Module, click + to add a new item
  • Use the drop-down box to select Add External URL
  • Paste the copied URL from the database
  • Add a page name 
  • Check the box to choose to load in a new tab
  • Click Add Item to save

Add a link to a research guide created by librarians at NOVA to help your students find books, articles, videos, and other types of resources related to the subject or program of study. 

1. Choose a subject research guide or campus/class research guide.

2. Copy the URL from the bottom of the guide

3. Use the copied link to create the research guide link in Canvas.

  • In the Course Module, click + to add a new item
  • Use the drop-down box to select Add External URL
  • Paste the copied URL from book record
  • Add a page name 
  • Check the box to choose to load in a new tab
  • Click Add Item to save

Add a librarian to your course to assist in integrating library resources and connecting with students for research assignments. Follow the instructions below or contact your Campus Library for assistance.

1. Send an email to Canvas Support at canvashelp@nvcc.edu requesting to add a librarian to your course.

2. Provide the following information in the body of your email:

  • Semester
  • Course number
  • Section number(s)
  • Librarian name & NVCC email address ​

NOTE: A librarian added to your course will be able to provide research help to students through the Canvas inbox/conversations and create/moderate discussion boards but will not have access to student grades or SIS information.

Canvas administration has incorporated the following database apps into Canvas which allows you to embed the following database apps into your course navigation bar.

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library: Collection of full-text encyclopedias, handbooks, and other sources for multidisciplinary research.
  • Literature Resource Center: Full-text biographies and critical analyses of writers and their work from a variety of periods and disciplines. 
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues.
  • Science in Context: Science topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments.

1. In the Course Navigation, click Settings.

2. Click the Navigation tab.

3. Use the drag and drop option to reorder the navigation links/apps.

4. Click the Save button.

5. Click the database link from course navigation to open the database app in Canvas.

Canvas administration has incorporated the following external library tools into Canvas which allows you to embed these library tools into your course module.

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library: Search and embed GVRL's collection of full-text encyclopedias, handbooks, and other sources for multidisciplinary research. 
  • Hoonuit: Search and embed online video tutorials for software including Adobe products, Microsoft Office and more.
  • Library Resources: Add content from LibGuides (Research Guides), and LibAnswers (NOVA Libraries FAQ) directly into your LMS course pages.
  • Literature Resource Center: Search and embed full-text biographies and critical analyses of writers and their work from a variety of periods and disciplines. 
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Search and embed essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues.
  • Science in Context: Search and embed science topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments.
  • Visible Body: Search and embed a 3D visualization and learning tool used to explore the systems of the human body.

1. In the Course Module, click + to add a new item.

2. Use the pull-down menu to select Add External Tool.

3. Select the tool from the list below.

4. Click Add Item to save.

Canvas administration has incorporated the following external library tools into Canvas which allows you to search and embed selected documents or video clips into your course module.

  • Alexander Street Video: Search via database interface and embed video clips, courtesy of VIVA/VCCS Libraries. Also called Academic Video Online.
  • EBSCOhost: Choose database and search for research articles. Select the + Add button to embed the article.
  • Films on Demand: Search available Films On Demand videos. A new icon will show up in your course rich editor letting you search Films On Demand and click to embed videos in your course material. 
  • ProQuest: Search and embed approximately 40 databases, including newspaper collections, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, MEDLINE, EconLit, Plant Science, Biological Sciences, Congressional Publications, and Sociological Abstracts.

1. In the Course Module, click + to add a new item.

2. Use the pull-down menu to select Add External Tool.

3. Select the tool from the list below.

4.  A frame will open and display the searchable interface.

5. Search and browse within this frame to find the document/video clip you want to embed into your Canvas module.

6. The document display page will have a Select this document or + Add button near the top of the page. Use this button to select the document you want to embed.

7. This will return you to the Add Item form in Canvas. Scroll down and enter a meaningful Page Name.

8. For the best experience, we recommend checking the Load in new tab checkbox.

9. Click the Add Item button to complete the addition of the link.