Where is the full text of my article?
This image is shared in the Public Domain under aCreative Commons Deed CC0 1.0 from www.pixabay.com.
When searching for articles you'll often find a mix of things:
- Full Text: The complete article is provided
- Abstracts: Only a summary of the article is provided
- Citations: Only information about the article (title, author, journal/magazine name, date, etc.) is provided
These types of results can be found in the library databases, but also when searching on the open web (for example, in Google Scholar). This guide tells you how to track down the full text of an article.
Best Ways to Find Full Text
When searching in the library databases:
1) Look for a link that says Full Text, Full Text PDF, or Full Text HTML. This will bring up the complete article, and you can usually print it, email it, or download it.
2) If there is no Full Text link, look for a link that says LincIt or Link to Full Text. If the full text of the article is available in a different database, it will take you there automatically.
3) If you do not see any of the above, try the next option below:
When starting with a citation (for example, for an article found via Google, or one recommended by an instructor):
1) Go to the eJournal Title List
2) Type in the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper (NOT the article title)
3) If full text articles from that publication are available in our databases or in print in one of the NOVA libraries, you will see information indicating that.
4) Any databases that have full text articles will be linked. Pay attention to the date range listed for each database- you have to be sure that it covers the date of your article.
5) If a database covers the date of your article, click on the link. If you are off campus, log in with your myNOVA username/password. Once in the database, either navigate to the year/volume/issue you need, or try a search for the title of your article (sometimes it can help to put the title in quotes if you're sure you have the title 100% correct).
When nothing works:
Check with your campus library. Your librarians may be able to find the full text of your article somewhere else, or it may be possible to use Interlibrary Loan services to request a copy from a non-NOVA library.