Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Search the Library Catalog
Suggested Books
Disability Visibility by
"Disability rights activist Alice Wong brings tough conversations to the forefront of society with this anthology. It sheds light on the experience of life as an individual with disabilities, as told by none other than authors with these life experiences. It's an eye-opening collection that readers will revisit time and time again."-Chicago Tribune One in five people in the United States lives with a disability. Some disabilities are visible, others less apparent-but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Activist Alice Wong brings together this urgent, galvanizing collection of contemporary essays by disabled people,just in time for the thirtieth anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, From Harriet McBryde Johnson's account of her debate with Peter Singer over her own personhood to original pieces by authors like Keah Brown and Haben Girma; from blog posts, manifestos, and eulogies to Congressional testimonies, and beyond- this anthology gives a glimpse into the rich complexity of the disabled experience, highlighting the passions, talents, and everyday lives of this community. It invites readers to question their own understandings. It celebrates and documents disability culture in the now. It looks to the future and the past with hope and love.
ISBN: 9781984899422Publication Date: 2020-06-30
Sensory: Life on the Spectrum by
A colourful and eclectic comics anthology exploring a wide range of autistic experiences - from diagnosis journeys to finding community - from contributors with autism. From artist and curator Bex Ollerton comes an anthology featuring comics from thirty autistic creators about their experiences of living in a world that doesn't always understand or accept them. Sensory: Life on the Spectrum contains illustrated explorations of everything from life pre-diagnosis to tips on how to explain autism to someone who doesn't have it, to suggestions for how to soothe yourself when you're feeling overstimulated. With unique, vibrant comic-style illustrations and the emotional depth and vulnerability of memoir, this book depicts these varied experiences with the kind of insight that only those who have lived them can have.
ISBN: 9781524874766Publication Date: 2022-10-18
Viral BS by
Dissecting the biggest medical myths and pseudoscience, Viral BSexplores how misinformation can spread faster than microbes. Can your zip code predict when you will die? Should you space out childhood vaccines? Does talcum powder cause cancer? Why do some doctors recommend e-cigarettes while other doctors recommend you stay away from them? Health information--and misinformation--is all around us, and it can be hard to separate the two. A long history of unethical medical experiments and medical mistakes, along with a host of celebrities spewing anti-science beliefs, has left many wary of science and the scientists who say they should be trusted. How do we stay sane while unraveling the knots of fact and fiction to find out what we should really be concerned about, and what we can laugh off? In Viral BS, journalist, doctor, professor, and CDC-trained disease detective Seema Yasmin, driven by a need to set the record straight, dissects some of the most widely circulating medical myths and pseudoscience. Exploring how epidemics of misinformation can spread faster than microbes, Dr. Yasmin asks why bad science is sometimes more believable and contagious than the facts. Each easy-to-read chapter covers a specific myth, whether it has endured for many years or hit the headlines more recently. Dr. Yasmin explores such pressing questions as * Do cell phones, Nutella, or bacon cause cancer? * Are we running out of antibiotics? * Does playing football cause brain disease? * Is the CDC banned from studying guns? * Do patients cared for by female doctors live longer? * Is trauma inherited? * Is suicide contagious? and much more. Taking a deep dive into the health and science questions you have always wanted answered, this authoritative and entertaining book empowers readers to reach their own conclusions. Viral BSeven comes with Dr. Yasmin's handy Bulls*%t Detection Kit.
ISBN: 9781421440408Publication Date: 2021-01-12
Already Toast by
The story of one woman's struggle to care for her seriously ill husband-and a revealing look at the role unpaid family caregivers play in a society that fails to provide them with structural support. Already Toast shows how all-consuming caregiving can be, how difficult it is to find support, and how the social and literary narratives that have long locked women into providing emotional labor also keep them in unpaid caregiving roles. When Kate Washington and her husband, Brad, learned that he had cancer, they were a young couple- professionals with ascending careers, parents to two small children. Brad's diagnosis stripped those identities away- he became a patient and she his caregiver. Brad's cancer quickly turned aggressive, necessitating a stem-cell transplant that triggered a massive infection, robbing him of his eyesight and nearly of his life. Kate acted as his full-time aide to keep him alive, coordinating his treatments, making doctors' appointments, calling insurance companies, filling dozens of prescriptions, cleaning commodes, administering IV drugs. She became so burned out that, when she took an online quiz on caregiver self-care, her result cheerily declared- "You're already toast!" Through it all, she felt profoundly alone, but, as she later learned, she was in fact one of millions- an invisible army of family caregivers working every day in America, their unpaid labor keeping our troubled healthcare system afloat. Because our culture both romanticizes and erases the realities of care work, few caregivers have shared their stories publicly. As the baby-boom generation ages, the number of family caregivers will continue to grow. Readable, relatable, timely, and often raw, Already Toast-with its clear call for paying and supporting family caregivers-is a crucial intervention in that conversation, bringing together personal experience with deep research to give voice to those tasked with the overlooked, vital work of caring for the seriously ill.
ISBN: 9780807011508Publication Date: 2021-03-16
Beyond Madness by
Reveals proven solutions for bettering the lives of people with serious mental illness, their families, and their communities. Leading scientist and gifted storyteller Rachel A. Pruchno, PhD, was shocked to encounter misinformation, ignorance, and intolerance when she sought to help her daughter, newly diagnosed with bipolar disorder. Turning to the scientific literature, Dr. Pruchno eventually found solutions, but she realized many others would need help to understand the highly technical writing and conflicting findings. In Beyond Madness--part memoir, part history, and part empathetic guide--Dr. Pruchno draws on her decades as a mental health professional, her own family's experiences with mental illness, and extensive interviews with people with serious mental illness to discuss how individuals live with these illnesses, including bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, and major depression. The book * presents real-world vignettes that vividly describe what it is like to experience some of the most troubling symptoms of a severe mental illness * offers practical advice for how individuals, family members, and communities can help people with a serious mental illness * explains how people with mental illness can find competent health care providers, identify treatment regimens, overcome obstacles to treatment, cope with stigma, and make decisions * provides insight into programs, such as Crisis Intervention Training, that can help people undergoing mental health crisis avoid jail and get the treatment they need * takes aim at the popular concept of "rock bottom" and reveals why this is such a harmful and simplistic approach * advocates for evidence-based care * documents examples of communities that have embraced successful strategies for promoting recovery * shows that people with serious mental illnesses can live productive lives Meticulously researched and engagingly written, Beyond Madness is a call to action and a promise of hope for everyone who cares about and interacts with the millions of people who have serious mental illness. Family members, friends, teachers, police, primary care doctors, and clergy--people who recognize that something is wrong but don't know how to help--will find the book's practical advice invaluable.
ISBN: 9781421441429Publication Date: 2022-04-26
eBooks
Here are a few places you can find eBooks, just remember that you will have to login with your myNOVA username and password.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of eBooks curated by NOVA librarians on a variety of different subjects. eBooks can be accessed in the browser or downloaded for offline use.
- R2 Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of more than 800 eBooks featuring a comprehensive selection of medical, nursing and allied health titles. Collection includes Fast Facts books for quick and easy reference.
- Salem Press Health This link opens in a new windowA full-text database that provides access to eBook versions of Salem Health print titles that are owned at NOVA Libraries.
- Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEveryday health care information from medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, fact sheets, magazine articles, and videos. Use the Advanced Search function to view results in Spanish.
Sample Searches
Sample Searches:
| affordable care act AND seniors |
Use AND between two or more terms to find materials with all the terms. Searching for affordable care act AND seniors will only include books that have both affordable care act and seniors in their contents. |
| seniors OR elderly |
Use OR between similar terms. Searching for seniors OR elderly will find books that refer to either term. |
| affordable care act" |
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around specific phrases such as "affordable care act" to find the words in that specific order. |
| attend* |
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple endings of one word. Using attend* as a search term will include results that refer to attend, attend, attended, attendance, and attendant. |
When You Find a Book in the Library Catalog...
...Write down the book's Call Number. The call number is basically the book's address, and is what you will use to find the book on the shelf.
Learn More About Call Numbers and Finding Books
(eBooks do not have call numbers. You will view them online.)