Skip to Main Content

CST - (Bachner - AL)

Direct comments to aanderson@nvcc.edu

Need Help?

For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.

Periodical Article Databases

Libraries buy magazines, journals, and newspapers in online collections called databases.

Communication & Mass Media Complete is a database collection of journal articles.

Here's how to find it from the library home page (www.nvcc.edu/library):

Library home page 

>  Research Databases 

>  By Subject 

>  Communication Studies, Film, & Theatre (CST) 

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Database Search Tips

To search for scholarly articles in databases:

  • Use only the most essential words related to your topic.
  • Put the word AND between each new idea.  For example:

 nuclear family AND communication
 nuclear family AND adolescents AND communication

  • Put phrases in quotation marks.   "social media"
  • Use an asterisk *  for truncation:  religio*  will find articles with the words religion, religious, and religions
  • In your list of results, use the "Scholarly" or "Peer Reviewed" filter to limit to articles from scholarly journals.

To search specifically for an article that presents the results of an original study:

1. Type your topic in the first box.
2.  In the second box, type  results AND discussion  
3.  In the second row dropdown, select  TX All Text
4.  In the "Search Options" section, put a check mark next to  Full Text and next to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Advanced search boxes