Skip to Main Content

ENG: College Composition : West Potomac High School Dual Enrollment (AL)

Direct comments to aanderson@nvcc.edu

Need Help?

For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.

Search the Library Catalog

Library Catalog/Database Search Tips

Select  EVERYTHING  (above the search box) or the "Advanced Search".  This will search multiple library databases simultaneously, and will include results from many sources, including magazines, newspapers, books, and scholarly journals.  If you just want scholarly articles, be sure to filter your results to Peer-reviewed journals.

What to Type in the Search Box:

Use your initial topic idea, research question, or topic sentences as a starting point to identify keywords and concepts:

Do the health benefits of high school football outweigh the risks?

Type AND between each concept

health AND benefits AND high school AND football

health AND risks AND high school AND football

Use "quotation marks" around phrases

health AND benefits AND "high school" AND football

health AND risks AND "high school" AND football

Use related terms and synonyms

physical fitness AND "high school" AND football

self-esteem AND "high school" AND football

injuries AND "high school" AND football

In your list of results, use FILTERS/LIMITERS:

  • Full Text Online - click the full text box so that all your results will have the entire article available for you to read online
  • Source Type 
  • Publication Date

The Library Catalog EVERYTHING/Advanced Search will search most of the content of library databases, such as the ones listed below. 
The databases have more powerful search options, though, so if you don't find what you need through the Library Catalog search you can search directly in the databases below. 
If you are not finding what you need, please consult a librarian.

Databases