LibGuides: ENG 111: College Composition I (Burke-Loudoun): Finding Sources

Need Help?

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
Issues & Controversies
Detailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
Credo Reference
A collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)

Coverage includes over 8,914 journals and magazines dating back to 1887.
Subjects include: Animal science; Anthropology; Astronomy; Biology; Chemistry; Engineering; Ethnic and multicultural studies; General science; Geography; Geology; Law; Mathematics; Music; Pharmaceutical sciences; Physics; Psychology; Religion and philosophy; Science and technology; Veterinary science; Women's studies; Zoology.
ProQuest - All Databases
Approximately 40 databases, including newspaper collections, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, MEDLINE, EconLit, Plant Science, Biological Sciences, Congressional Publications, and Sociological Abstracts.

AP Newsroom (EBSCO)
A daily updated primary source resource from the Associated Press (AP) with images, audio sound bites, graphics and text. (NVCC)

Coverage includes over 4.5 million items dating back to the 1800s; Updated daily.
Subjects include: Domestic historical events; International historical events; Sports; Financial news.
Artstor
Artstor features millions of high-quality images and media. All content is rights-cleared for education and research — you are free to use it in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.

Artstor is now part of JSTOR. (NVCC)
Britannica Image Quest
More than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best image collections in the world. (NVCC)

Use relevant keywords or phrases, not complete sentences, to perform your search.
Put the word AND between search terms: nurse AND nurse practitioner
Connect related terms using OR: job OR employment OR work OR career OR occupation
Look for additional keywords or subjects offered.
Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.

Search for books on your topic in the library catalog.

Search for synonyms and related terms, key people/organizations or key events/issues.
Put the word AND between search terms; communication AND leadership
eBooks and streaming videos are accessible through the catalog. If you see any in your search results, click the 'Full-text available at' link to open.
Select 'Request Item' to have books from other NOVA libraries sent to Loudoun for pick up.
If your book is at Loudoun be sure to write down the call number in order to locate the book on the shelf.