Need Help?
Phone or Email This link opens in a new window
FAQ This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorials This link opens in a new window
Make an Appointment This link opens in a new window
Search for Articles and Images
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
-
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCitations, with full-text links to JSTOR. Provides abstracts of scholarly literature (journal articles, dissertations, book and media reviews) on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. (VIVA)
-
AP Newsroom (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA daily updated primary source resource from the Associated Press (AP) with images, audio sound bites, graphics and text. (NVCC)
-
Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new windowMore than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best image collections in the world. (NVCC)
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
-
ProQuest - All Databases This link opens in a new windowApproximately 40 databases, including newspaper collections, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, MEDLINE, EconLit, Plant Science, Biological Sciences, Congressional Publications, and Sociological Abstracts.
-
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowIncludes U.S. History reference articles, periodical articles, images, and primary documents. (NVCC)
-
Databases by SubjectLibrary databases organized according to subject: i.e., Accounting, Biographies, Chemistry, etc.
Library Database Search Tips
- Do not enter complete sentences in the search box. Use relevant topics or keywords to perform your search.
- Put the word AND between search terms; career AND technology.
- Connect related terms using OR; AI OR artificial intelligence.
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered.
- Limit your results by full text, publication date or source type.
- Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
Library Catalog
Library Catalog Search Tips
Search for books on your topic in the library catalog.
- Search for synonyms and related terms, key people/organizations or key events/issues.
- Put the word AND between search terms; voting AND social aspects
- eBooks and streaming videos are accessible through the catalog. If you see any in your search results, click the 'Full-text available at' link to open.
- Select 'Request Item' to have books from other NOVA libraries sent to Loudoun for pick up. If your book is at Loudoun be sure to write down the call number in order to locate the book on the shelf.