Need Help?
Search for Articles
Databases for Finding Background Information to Learn More About Your Topic
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
-
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
Databases for Finding In-depth Academic Journals, Newspaper, and Magazine Articles
-
Chronicle of Higher Education (Web Edition) This link opens in a new windowNews and information on Higher Education. Includes videos, podcasts, and the current annual Almanac of Higher Education. Other features include interactive tools for career development and job searching. (NVCC)
-
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete covers all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. It provides indexing for over 1,800 journals, as well as full-text for over 900 journals, 81 books, and numerous education-related conference papers. (VIVA)
-
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowReferences to thousands of educational topics. Indexes journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, standards, guidelines and more. ERIC documents (non-journal literature) are available full-text, 1993 to the present. (VIVA)
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
Article Database Search Tips
- Do not enter complete sentences in the search box. Use relevant topics or keywords to perform your search.
- Put the word AND between search terms; nurse AND nurse practitioner
- Connect related terms using OR; job OR employment OR work OR career OR occupation
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered.
- Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
Search the Library Catalog
Library Catalog Search Tips
Search for books on your topic in the library catalog.
- In addition to searching for books on your topic/keywords, search for synonyms and related terms, key people/organizations or key events/issues.
- Put the word AND between search terms; communication AND leadership
- eBooks and streaming videos are accessible through the catalog. If you see any in your search results, click the 'Full-text available at' link to open.
- Select 'Request Item' to have books from other NOVA libraries sent to Loudoun for pick up. If your book is at Loudoun be sure to write down the call number in order to locate the book on the shelf.
Think Tanks
Think tanks conduct research and issue reports advocating for positions on policy issues. These may be institutes associated with associations or universities. Some lean left, such as the Brookings Institute, while others lean right, like the American Enterprise Institute. Most concentrate on a few issues. SourceWatch maintains a list of think tanks.
Think tanks with significant interest in education include the following:
Brookings Institute
Cato Institute
Center for Education Policy, SRI International (Stanford Research)
Harvard Center for Education Policy Research
Mathematica Policy Research
RAND Corporation
Stanford Center for Education Policy Analysis