Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Articles
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to our NOVA Libraries homepage and select the Articles tab. Look under 'Recommended Databases for Most Topics' to find a list of relevant databases. You may also look under Databases by Subject to find a list of additional subject databases. For example, as your argument is based on fracking or offshore drilling, search within the Environmental Science (ENV) database listing.
Remember not to write sentences in the search box. Search by topic or keyword.
Suggested keywords:
- fracking
- hydraulic fracturing
- natural gas
- shale gas industry
- gas well drilling
- offshore drilling
- offshore oil well drilling
- fossil fuels
- BP Deepwater Horizon oil spill
Look for additional keywords or subjects offered. Also make sure you look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
Article Databases
Search the library databases below to find newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals on your topic. Remember that you will have to login with your myNOVA username and password to access the databases from off-campus.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on issues in the news. Reports include background information, chronology of important events, pro/con section, outlook, and more. (VCCS)
Search the library databases below to find newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals on your topic. Remember that you will have to login with your myNOVA username and password to access the databases from off-campus.
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowScience topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection offers full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases. (VIVA)
Why can't I just use Google?
This video by Yavapai College Library in Prescott, Arizona demonstrates the different types of information found in Google versus library databases.
Click the 
icon located in the bottom right corner to watch the video in fullscreen mode.