Need Help?
Search for Articles
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
-
ProQuest - All Databases This link opens in a new windowApproximately 40 databases, including newspaper collections, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, MEDLINE, EconLit, Plant Science, Biological Sciences, Congressional Publications, and Sociological Abstracts.
Article Database Search Tips
- Do not enter complete sentences in the search box. Use relevant topics or keywords to perform your search.
- Put the word AND between search terms; nurse AND nurse practitioner
- Connect related terms using OR; job OR employment OR work OR career OR occupation
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered.
- Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
Search the Library Catalog
Library Catalog Search Tips
Search for books on your topic in the library catalog.
- Search for synonyms and related terms, key people/organizations or key events/issues.
- Put the word AND between search terms; communication AND leadership
- eBooks and streaming videos are accessible through the catalog. If you see any in your search results, click the 'Full-text available at' link to open.
- Select 'Request Item' to have books from other NOVA libraries sent to Loudoun for pick up.
- If your book is at Loudoun be sure to write down the call number in order to locate the book on the shelf.