Article Databases
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under Education (EDU, CHD) or Current & Controversial Issues to find a list of relevant databases on your topic. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
- Do not enter complete sentences in the search box. Use relevant topics or keywords to perform your search.
- Put the word AND between search terms; communication AND workplace
- Connect related terms using OR; "Covid 19" OR coronavirus OR pandemic
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered.
- Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
-
ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Large collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
-
Chronicle of Higher Education (Web Edition) This link opens in a new window News and information on Higher Education. Includes videos, podcasts, and the current annual Almanac of Higher Education. Other features include interactive tools for career development and job searching. (NVCC)
-
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Education Research Complete covers all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. It provides indexing for over 1,800 journals, as well as full-text for over 900 journals, 81 books, and numerous education-related conference papers. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Search using the most important words to describe your topic, including synonyms and related terms. Within articles, notice options to email articles and view citations.
For more help, view Search Strategy Tutorials.
| Topic | Possible Related Keywords |
| K-12 | public schools, elementary schools, middle schools, high schools, secondary school, students, teachers, parents, school districts, classrooms |
| curriculum | teaching, learning, administration of education programs, education, subjects, learning strategies |
| 1619 Project | African American history, Black history, United States history, Slavery in the United States, history of race relations in the United States, Nikole Hannah-Jones, social sciences education |
| controversy | debate, argument, dispute, opinion, challenge, issue |
Database Tutorials
For more help, view more Database Tutorial videos.