Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Articles
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the discipline categories to find a list of relevant databases. You can also perform a search in the key databases below.
Remember not to write sentences in the search box. Search by topic or keyword.
Look for additional keywords or subjects offered. Also look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
Controversial Issue Databases
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on issues in the news. Reports include background information, chronology of important events, pro/con section, outlook, and more. (VCCS)
Multidisciplinary and Subject Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides extensive coverage of global political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Political Science Complete provides nearly 340 full-text reference books and monographs and more than 44,000 full-text conference papers, which includes those from the International Political Science Association. (VIVA)
Suggested Keywords for Civic Engagement Topics
- vote OR voting
- "voting behavior"
- "voting preferences"
- "voter apathy"
- voters AND attitudes
- voter turnout
- political participation
- voting rights
- voting AND social aspects
- voting AND religion OR race OR gender OR income
- voting AND psychological aspects
- voting and political ethics
- United States elections OR presidential elections
- noncitizen voting
- local elections
- voting age
- strategic voting
- "single-issue voting" OR "single issue politics"