Need Help?
Phone or Email This link opens in a new window
FAQ This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorials This link opens in a new window
Make an Appointment This link opens in a new window
Article Databases
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under discipline categories to find a list of relevant databases on your topic. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
- Do not enter complete sentences in the search box. Use relevant topics or keywords to perform your search.
- Put the word AND between search terms; career AND technology.
- Connect related terms using OR; AI OR artificial intelligence.
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered.
- Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
Business, Science, and Technology Topics
-
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowArticles from journals, magazines and newspapers that are business oriented, company reports, industry reports and country reports. (VIVA)
Click here to access additional business and marketing databases.
-
Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers the areas of ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. The database contains full-text for more than 600 journals and 100 books and indexes over 1,500 journals. (VIVA)
-
Computer Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowNearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. (NVCC)
-
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It includes indexing, abstracts, and full text for academic journals, professional publications, and reference sources. Subject areas include engineering, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social and professional context. (VIVA)
Click here to access additional computer science databases.
-
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowScience topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
-
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It includes the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). (VIVA)
-
Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCovers the areas of ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. The database contains full-text for more than 600 journals and 100 books and indexes over 1,500 journals. (VIVA)
-
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowScience topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
Click here to access additional environmental science databases.
Health Science Topics
-
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowOffers full text peer-reviewed nursing and allied health journals, magazines, and newsletters, and multimedia resources such as audio files and videos of medical procedures and live surgeries. (NVCC)
-
Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. (VIVA)
Click here to access additional health sciences databases.
-
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window(Formerly Health & Wellness Resource Center) Key features include reference material, full text health and medical journals, pamphlets, videos, drug guides, recommended websites. Appropriate for both student and consumer use. (NVCC)
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
Click here to access additional health sciences databases.
Social Science Topics
-
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes information on job and industry profiles, job-hunting and workplace skills, career and industry resources, and college planning and financial aid. (NVCC)
-
Salem Press Careers This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of articles to assist students and job-seekers to learn more about today's most popular careers (NVCC).
-
Political Science Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides extensive coverage of global political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Political Science Complete provides nearly 340 full-text reference books and monographs and more than 44,000 full-text conference papers, which includes those from the International Political Science Association. (VIVA)
-
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowIncludes U.S. History reference articles, periodical articles, images, and primary documents. (NVCC)
Click here to access additional political science databases.
-
Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowA collection of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more that increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. (VIVA)
-
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete covers all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. It provides indexing for over 1,800 journals, as well as full-text for over 900 journals, 81 books, and numerous education-related conference papers. (VIVA)
-
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowReferences to thousands of educational topics. Indexes journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, standards, guidelines and more. ERIC documents (non-journal literature) are available full-text, 1993 to the present. (VIVA)
Click here to access additional education databases.
-
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete covers all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. It provides indexing for over 1,800 journals, as well as full-text for over 900 journals, 81 books, and numerous education-related conference papers. (VIVA)
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
-
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCitations and full-text journal articles. Subject coverage includes world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. (VIVA)
Click here to access additional philosophy databases.
-
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCitations and full-text journal articles. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. (VIVA)
Click here to access additional psychology databases.
Periodical Types
Articles are published in periodicals, which is any type of publication published at a regular interval (weekly, monthly, quarterly). Periodical types include magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and scholarly journals which:
- Provide detailed information about a specific aspect of a topic.
- Report on events, issues, or scholarly research.
- Are good sources for current or recent information.
Magazines, journals and newspapers typically do NOT provide a summary or overview of a topic.
More information on finding scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.
Why can't I just use Google?
This video by Yavapai College Library in Prescott, Arizona demonstrates the different types of information found in Google versus library databases.
Click the 
icon located in the bottom right corner to watch the video in fullscreen mode.