Need Help?
Phone or Email This link opens in a new window
FAQ This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorials This link opens in a new window
Make an Appointment This link opens in a new window
Online Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are a type of reference source that can help you get background information on your topic, biographical information, as well as definitions and keywords. You can search in the selected online encyclopedias below.
-
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBiographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. (NVCC)
-
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowContains essays and criticism from encyclopedias and books examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history. Also includes full-length videos of classic plays, information on literary characters, and more. (NVCC)
-
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowOver 8,000 articles by top scholars that focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American history and culture. Also includes images and primary sources. (NVCC)
-
Salem Press Literature This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of critical surveys of the works of over 700 authors. Also includes Masterplots, a collection of short plot summaries and critical evaluations of major works of literature. (NVCC)
-
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFull-text biographies and critical analyses of writers and their work from a variety of periods and disciplines. (VIVA)
-
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryA comprehensive encyclopedia of literary and cultural theory. Covers Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory.
Search Tips
Search by broad terms, as encyclopedias usually provide general overviews of topics.
J.D. Salinger or symbolism
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in a specific order.
"Catcher and the Rye" or "post-world war II"