It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evidence-Based Practice for Health Professionals: Resources
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowThe world’s pre-eminent health sciences database. A free resource that allows you to search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. (VIVA)
MEDLINE (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowThe world’s pre-eminent health sciences database. While available freely online via the U.S. National Library of Medicine, Cambridge Scientific Abstracts provides an alternate interface. (VIVA)
CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature- EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowOver 1400 full text journals representing many medical disciplines. The most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. Search options include peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based care plans, quick lessons, patient teaching materials, case studies, continuing education units (CEU), and more. (VCCS)
In many of the NOVA Library databases (MEDLINE, CINAHL, Nursing Reference Center), you can can limit your search to just practice guidelines - look for a limiter called "guidelines" or "practice guidelines", often found under "Publication Types".
Using the CINAHL/MeSH Headings Feature in EBSCOhost
A number of textbooks, handbooks and databases may be consulted to effectively answer background questions. The library also has many ebook collections which you can check out on the Downloading eBooks Research Guide.
DynaMedThis link opens in a new windowA clinical reference tool for physicians and health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics. (NVCC)
Nursing Reference Center PlusThis link opens in a new windowEvidence-based resource designed for point of care. Includes videos, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, patient education handouts, drug information and continuing education materials. (NVCC)
EBP Tools from ). Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines, 3rd ed.
Trip Database A free clinical search engine, designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence Trip also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news. Trip stands for "Translating Research Into Practice".
Free Online Resources
National Guidelines Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from more than 100 institutions and organizations. It is sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. Note: Due to a loss of funding in 2018, no new guidelines have been added since then.