Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Search the Library Catalog: Select the EVERYTHING button to include articles and videos
Top Databases for Film Research
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndexes 300 of the world's academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. In addition to the indexing, this resource provides full-text access to many of it's journals. (NVCC)
- EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new windowSearch multiple EBSCO databases at once, including Art & Architecture, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Ebsco eBooks, SOCIndex, and Women's Studies International
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
Database Search Tips
Magazine, newspaper, and journal articles focus on a specific aspect of a topic, so what you type into the search box should also be specific.
Use your research question or topic sentences as a starting point to identify keywords and concepts:
How do the visual effects of The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari reveal the narrator's perspective?
| Type AND between each concept | dr caligari AND visual |
| Use "quotation marks" around phrases | "set design" AND dr caligari |
| Use an asterisk (*) to get words with multiple endings (light* will find articles with light, lights, lighting, lighted, and lightness) |
dr caligari AND light* |
| Use related terms and synonyms | dr caligari AND (narrator OR francis) |
In your list of results, use FILTERS/LIMITERS:
- Full Text - click the full text box so that all your results will have the entire article available for you to read
- Source Type - select magazines or academic/scholarly journals