Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Starting Points
If you're not sure which databases are appropriate for your topic, start with general or multidisciplinary databases that search across multiple fields. These databases are good starting points for most research projects.
Scholarly & Popular Articles
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
Current Events & Controversial Issues
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
Next Steps
Looking for subject databases that focus on a single academic discipline or a group of related disciplines? Select Databases by Subject to see links to recommended databases.
Choosing Where to Search
Learn how to choose which database to get you the best results when searching for academic articles related to a specific topic.