Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Articles
Library databases will connect you with a wealth of academic research articles, newspaper articles, and other sources not available on the open web. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the category History (HIS) to find a list of relevant databases. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
- Remember not to type sentences in the search box. Search by keyword, historical figure, historical period, or historical event.
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered. Also make sure you look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
- Daily Life through History This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, cross-disciplinary resource of social history from ancient times to the present including books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more; exploring how others lived and live their lives, and how their lives shaped ours. Full-text. (NVCC)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowIncludes world history reference articles, periodical articles, historical maps, primary documents, audio and video. (NVCC)
- America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCitations, with full-text links to JSTOR. Provides abstracts of scholarly literature (journal articles, dissertations, book and media reviews) on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. (VIVA)
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowIncludes U.S. History reference articles, periodical articles, images, and primary documents. (NVCC)
