Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHI 220: Ethics (220): Articles

Resources for students in Philosophy 220 online. Questions? Email online-library@nvcc.edu

Article Databases

Here are a few places you can find articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. Remember that you will have to login with your myNOVA username and password (the same ones you use to access Canvas, student email, etc.).

Why can't I just use Google?

This video by Yavapai College Library in Prescott, Arizona demonstrates the different types of information found in Google versus library databases. 

Click the  icon located in the bottom right corner to watch the video in fullscreen mode.

Where do I find articles?

Articles are published in periodicals, which is any type of publication published at a regular interval (weeks, months, etc.).  Periodical types include magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and scholarly journals.  It is important to understand what kind of periodical will have the articles you need.  More information on finding peer-reviewed articles.

Searching Library Databases

Search Tips

Identify Your Keywords

Select the most important 2-3 keywords. These are terms related to your topic. For instance, let's say your essay is about philosopher Immanuel Kant and deontological ethics. Your keywords could be:

Kant, deontological ethics

Compose Your Search String

In order to find information in a database, you must create a search string. This is a combination of keywords and search operators (e.g. AND, OR, *) that tells the database the information you want to receive. Here are a few tips:

1. Use quotation marks ( "  " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in a specific order.

"deontological ethics"

2. Put the word AND between each new keyword or phrase; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your keywords.

"deontological ethics" AND Kant

3. Put the word OR between two or more keywords to find articles that use common synonyms for your topic. 

"deontological ethics" OR "ethics of duty" OR "ethics of obligation"

4. Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple versions of one keyword.  For example, using philosoph* as a search term will include results that refer to philosophy, philosophies, philosopher, philosophers, philosophical, etc.

philosoph*

Search Examples

search for "deontological ethics" in the Religion & Philosophy Collection database