Why Use Reference Books?
An encyclopedia is a type of reference book. Use a reference book to:
- Define important vocabulary words related to your topic,
- Find a basic overview and main issues related to your topic,
- Find references to additional resources, and
- Discover important background information related to your topic.
Search Tips
How to Search in Online Encyclopedias
Use broad terms, as encyclopedias usually provide general overviews of topics.
global warming
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in a specific order.
"climate change"
Good Databases for Philosophy Reference eBooks
These are good databases for finding information from encyclopedias and other reference books (specialized dictionaries, handbooks, etc.). Log in with your myNOVA username and password.
- For links to specific philosophy reference ebooks, see the Philosophy Reference Books You Should Use box below.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window(Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) includes full-text encyclopedias, handbooks, and other sources for multidisciplinary research. (VIVA, NVCC)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowMore than 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries and reference books. (VIVA)
- Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBiographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. (NVCC)
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
Philosophy Reference Books You Should Use
- Encyclopedia of Ethics
"Coverage of ethical theory as pursued among English-speaking philosophers." - Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The 2nd edition of this encyclopedia summarizes wide-ranging philosophical subjects. (located in the Gale Virtual Reference database) - Oxford Companion to Philosophy
An excellent place to find info on the lives and major tenets of well-known philosophers, plus readings on a wide range of philosophical topics. (located in the Oxford Reference Online database) - Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Why use a regular dictionary when there's one especially for philosophy students? Contains comprehensive entries on major philosophers, and covers rapidly developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics. International in scope. (located in the Credo Reference database)
