Need Help?
Phone or Email This link opens in a new window
FAQ This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorials This link opens in a new window
Make an Appointment This link opens in a new window
Article Databases
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the categories Health Sciences and/or Philosophy (PHI) to find a list of relevant databases. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
- Log in with your MyNOVA username and password when prompted.
- Do not enter complete sentences in the search box. Use relevant topics or keywords to perform your search.
- Put the word AND between search terms; euthanasia AND AND medical ethics
- Connect related terms using OR; ethics or ethical issue or ethical concerns or ethical dilemmas
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered.
- Look for toolbars that provide email, citation, and link options.
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
-
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowOffers full text peer-reviewed nursing and allied health journals, magazines, and newsletters, and multimedia resources such as audio files and videos of medical procedures and live surgeries. (NVCC)
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
-
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowScience topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
-
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and summaries for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Indexes over 2,000 journals, books and other publications, with full-text for over 700 of them. (VIVA)
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
-
ProQuest One Religion & PhilosophyProvides tools to explore religion and philosophy, including journals, primary sources, and 12 unique archival collections.
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
euthansia AND epistemology
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"ethical aspects"
Use an asterisk (*) to find multiple endings of one word. Using ethic* as a search term will include results that refer to ethics, ethical, ethically, etc.
ethic*