Search Tips
- AP Newsroom (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA daily updated primary source resource from the Associated Press (AP) with images, audio sound bites, graphics and text. (NVCC)
- Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new windowMore than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best image collections in the world. (NVCC)
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowArtstor features millions of high-quality images and media. All content is rights-cleared for education and research. Artstor is now part of JSTOR. (NVCC)
- LIFE Photo Archive
This link opens in a new window
"Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google." - NYPL Digital Collections
- This link opens in a new window
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
In AP Images or Image Quest: Browse photos on the main page, or use the search box.
In NYPL Digital Collections: Browse or search through the New York Public Library's collection of images.
- Listen Notes
- This link opens in a new window
ListenNotes.com calls itself "The most comprehensive podcast database online." Search podcast show notes and audio transcripts by people, places, or topics.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
Use the search box for your chosen topic (e.g., "Palestine," "for-profit prisons") in Listen Notes or in any well-reviewed podcast app, such as Apple Podcasts for iOS or Google Podcasts for Android, or a cross-platform app like Spotify.
In Opposing Viewpoints or any database, go to "Advanced Search" and select Document Type: "Podcasts."
If you want podcasts about a specific person, topic, or time period, enter a search term, like "antisemitism" or "Covid-19." Or just hit "search" to find a variety of podcasts.
On the main page of the library catalog, click the link for Video.
If you want videos about a specific person, topic, or time period, enter a search term, like "self defense or "distracted driving." Or just hit "search" to find a variety of videos.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
In Advanced Search: under Image Quick View Types, select "Graph, Chart, or Diagram."
- The Virginia Room at the City of Fairfax Regional LibraryThe Fairfax County Public Library's Virginia Room maintains a collection rich in regional history and genealogy, as well as local and state government information and legal resources. A particular strength is Confederate Civil War military history. Other resources available for use are: maps, an extensive photographic archive, manuscripts, local newspapers, and rare books.
- Artifacts: United States Holocaust Memorial MuseumThe Artifacts Unpacked video series takes you behind the scenes to learn about the objects the Museum protects and how they keep alive the memory and experiences of victims and witnesses of the Holocaust. To search all artifacts, select "Collections" from the main menu and filter for "Objects."
- Smithsonian CollectionsThe scope of objects in Smithsonian collections ranges from ancient Chinese bronzes to the Star-Spangled Banner; from a 3.5 billion-year-old fossil to the Apollo lunar landing module; from the ruby slippers featured in The Wizard of Oz to presidential memorabilia.
Book Suggestions
