Articles

Need Help?

Phone or Email
FAQ
Video Tutorials
Make an Appointment

The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the category Careers/Student Development (SDV) to find a list of relevant databases. You can also perform a search in the databases below.

Do not enter complete sentences in the search box. Use relevant topics or keywords to perform your search.
Put the word AND between search terms; nurse AND nurse practitioner
Connect related terms using OR; job OR employment OR work OR career OR occupation
Look for additional keywords or subjects offered.
Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.

Example keywords:

"nursing shortage" AND salary OR pay
"nursing shortage" AND workload
"nursing shortage" AND burnout

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Includes information on job and industry profiles, job-hunting and workplace skills, career and industry resources, and college planning and financial aid. (NVCC)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)

Coverage includes over 8,914 journals and magazines dating back to 1887.
Subjects include: Animal science; Anthropology; Astronomy; Biology; Chemistry; Engineering; Ethnic and multicultural studies; General science; Geography; Geology; Law; Mathematics; Music; Pharmaceutical sciences; Physics; Psychology; Religion and philosophy; Science and technology; Veterinary science; Women's studies; Zoology.