Skip to Main Content

ART 101: History of Art: Prehistoric to Gothic (Liakos-Loudoun)

This guide has been created by librarians at NOVA to help you find books, articles, and other types of resources related to your assignment. Direct comments to Julie Combs, jcombs@nvcc.edu.

Need Help?

Phone or E-mail
FAQ
Video Tutorials

For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.

Why and When to Cite

Why to Cite:

  • Give credit to the authors of the sources you used.
  • Provide evidence you did research -- good, credible sources give your work more authority.
  • Allows your reader to locate the sources you used.
  • Avoid plagiarism.

When to Cite:

You should cite a source if you reproduce, quote, paraphrase, or summarize ideas and/or media created by other individuals. When in doubt, cite!

Chicago Manual of Style

The Chicago Manual of Style: 16th Edition is available at your campus library. Though there are many online resources helping to put together CMS style citations, the book is ultimately authoritative. NOVA Libraries also has created a short, non-comprehensive, guide for some basics about the style.

Two Types of Citations in Chicago

In Chicago Style, there are two (2) types of formatting choices. The Notes and Bibliography style, which utilizes footnotes and endnotes both for citing material and also to provide extra information should the author wish to, and the Author-Date style. 

Footnote Citations (Notes and Bibliography)

Citations for footnotes will differ depending on the type of resource you are citing. In general, CMS requires a full citation (like in your bibliography), with a few differences in your footnote. Differences include:

  • The author(s)'s name(s) will be listed as firstname lastname, rather than lastname, firstname like it is in the Bibliography. 
  • The publication information will be in parentheses.
  • There will be a comma after the publication information, with page numbers citing either your quote or the pages in which you found the information you're using.

Example: 

1. Barry Estabrook. Pig Tales: An Omnivore's Quest for Sustainable Meat. (New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2015), 15-25.

In some cases, it may be appropriate to use a shortened citation in a footnote. That would look like this: 

1. Estabrook, Pig Tales, 15-25.

In-Text or Parenthetical Citations (Author-Date)

In-text citations can also be used to tell your professor which source you used at a specific point in the paper.

These citations also correspond to the full citation found in the Reference List at the end of your paper.

Here are three examples of in-text citations:

  1. Use a signal phrase and a quote. A signal phrase introduces the author in a lead in a sentence with a quote, and then places the publication year and page number at the end.
    • Pollan explains that "the apple, like the settlers themselves, had to forsake its former domestic life and return to the wild before it could be reborn as an American"  (2001,13).
  2. Use a direct quote. A direct quote places the author, publication year and page number in parenthesis at the end.
    • "In effect, the apple like the settlers themselves, had to forsake its former domestic life and return to the wild before it could be reborn as an American" (Pollan, 2001, 13).
  3. Use a signal phrase and a paraphrase. A signal phrase introduces the author in the sentence, and rather than quote the author directly, you restate the author's ideas in your own words. This is followed by the publication year and page number in parenthesis.
    • Michael Pollan compares the apple to the settler, because both required an experience in the wild in order to fully express the American experience (2001, 13).

Reference List Citations

The reference list includes full citations all sources used in your paper. This should be organized alphabetically according to author last name. If your source has no author, use the first letter of the title. For the Notes and Bibliography style, this list of references will be called "Bibliography." If you are using the Author Date style, title your list "References" or "Works Cited." Note the difference in the following two examples of where the date is placed.

Example: Bibliography (Notes and Bibliography Style)

Estabrook, Barry. Pig Tales: An Omnivore's Quest for Sustainable Meat. New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2015.

Pollan, Michael. The Botany of Desire. New York: Random House, 2001.

Example: References (Author-Date Style)

Estabrook, Barry. 2015. Pig Tales: An Omnivore's Quest for Sustainable Meat. New York: W.W. Norton & Company.

Pollan, Michael. 2001. The Botony of Desire. New York: Random House.