Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Welcome
This research guide will help you find information and resources on diseases and symptoms relevant to your BIO 145 lab case studies. For each category, you should find resources that provide an overview of the disease/symptom, different forms and differences between them, the causes of the disease (if known) as well as the symptoms, prevalence, and treatment. For additional information, please refer to the assignment details in your Canvas course or contact your instructor.
Need help? Use the Ask a Librarian 24/7 chat service, schedule an appointment with a librarian, or stop by the library in person. We are happy to help!
General Library Resources
Search for books and eBooks on your topic in the library catalog.
- Select 'Request Item' to have books from other NOVA libraries sent to Loudoun for pick up.
- eBooks are accessible through the catalog. If you see any in your search results, click 'Online access' to open.
Biology for Nonbiologists by Publication Date: 2007 (eBook)Covering everything from basic chemistry principles and the consequences of biology's interaction with the environment to basic biological principles and applications, this convenient handbook provides a quick course on the science of biology. You'll gain an understanding of and skill in biological principles and learn key biology concepts, concerns, and practices without spending weeks in a classroom. Biology for Nonbiologists focuses on three areas: environmental biology and ecology as they apply to environmental regulatory compliance programs, human biology, and community and ecosystem dynamics. However, it also covers all major biological themes, including the cellular basis for life, the interactions of organisms, and the evolutionary process of all beings. The author explains scientific concepts with little reference to mathematics and physical science and little technical language, making the text easier to understand and more engaging for non-science readers.
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the category Biology (BIO) to find a list of relevant databases. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
- Remember not to write sentences in the search box. Search by topic keywords.
- Look for additional keywords offered under Subject and Subject Thesaurus. Also make sure you look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowScience topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
- Visible Body - Anatomy & Physiology This link opens in a new windowA 3D visualization and learning tool used to explore the systems of the human body. It contains more than 500 3D model sets with directed dissections and 150+ animations that visually communicate complex physiology. It includes 12 units: cells and tissues, integumentary, skeleton and joints, muscle types, nervous, endocrine, circulatory, lymphatic, respiratory, digestive, urinary, and reproductive. (NVCC)
The databases below provide access to rights-cleared images. Search by topic or keywords.
- Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new windowMore than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best image collections in the world. (NVCC)
- AP Newsroom (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA daily updated primary source resource from the Associated Press (AP) with images, audio sound bites, graphics and text. (NVCC)
- Click on the image to view more information.
- Look for the toolbar that provides print, email, and citation options.
Search Google for your topic keywords. Look for government, education, and/or organization webpages as well as news/magazine publications. Be cautious if using Wikipedia as the content cannot be verified. If researching controversial topics, be aware of biased publications.
Before using information found on a webpage, consider the following criteria to evaluate its credibility.
- Who is the author?
- What are his/her qualifications?
- Why was the website created?
- When was it last updated?
- How reliable is the information?
Films on Demand provides access to educational online videos on a variety of topics. Search by topic/keyword or browse the subject collections.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowEducational videos on a variety of topics including humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, technical education, family and consumer sciences, careers and job search, guidance and counseling and archival films and newsreels. (NVCC, VCCS)
- Click on the title to view the video segment.
- Use the toolbar below the video for email, embedding, and citation.