Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Country Research
Access detailed country information on culture, economics, politics, and more using library databases and websites below.
For further instruction on searching each database, see the drop down menu of databases in the Country Reports tab above.
Library Databases
- AtoZ: World Business This link opens in a new windowAtoZ World Business is a database that provides country business profiles covering a wide range of business and trade related information. (NVCC)
- AtoZ: World Culture This link opens in a new windowA wealth of reference information about the nations of the world. Includes information about demographics, climate, culture and travel. (NVCC)
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowSee "Country Profile" drop down menu on lower right side of the main page. Select a country, and a PDF report will open in a new tab.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSearch for your country and other keywords to view related articles, or under "Limit Your Results" see "Publication Type" and select "Country Report," then enter your country in the search box.
Suggested Websites
- BBC News > Country ProfilesFull profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories
- CIA > The World FactbookThe Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- Export.govExport.gov helps U.S. companies plan, develop and execute international sales strategies necessary to succeed in today's global marketplace. Developed by international trade specialists and economists, here you will find trusted market intelligence, practical advice and business tools to help you understand how to export, connect with foreign buyers, and expand operations in new markets.
- IMF Country InformationThe International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.