What Type of Information Do You Need?
There are two main types of science information:
| Background Info |
Research Articles (Peer Reviewed) |
|
| Purpose | Overview of a general topic | Reports finding from studies or experiments |
| Writing | Everyday language | Technical language |
| Audience | Patients & consumers | Healthcare professionals & students |
| Focus | Broad focus on the patient experience and frequently asked questions | Very narrow focus on specific disorders, treatments or physiological mechanisms. |
| Answers Questions Like | What are the symptoms and treatments of diabetes? | How does preterm birth impact long-term type 2 diabetes risk for infants born at less than 28 weeks gestation? |
Background Info
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Science topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS) - Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Formerly Health & Wellness Resource Center) Key features include reference material, full text health and medical journals, pamphlets, videos, drug guides, recommended websites, and the Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary. Appropriate for both student and consumer use. (NVCC)
- CDC Diseases & ConditionsFor each disease/condition, the CDC provides basic information, data & statistics, links to current research, and more.
Research Articles
The library has dozens of science databases. For this class, we recommend these:
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowThe world’s pre-eminent health sciences database. A free resource that allows you to search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. (VIVA)
- CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature- EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1400 full text journals representing many medical disciplines. The most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. Search options include peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based care plans, quick lessons, patient teaching materials, case studies, continuing education units (CEU), and more. (VCCS) - Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection provides full-text scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It includes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases. This collection is a part of the SciTech Premium Collection. SciTech Premium > Natural Science Collection > Biological Science Collection. (VIVA)
More Databases