Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
NOVA Libraries subscribes to magazines, journals and newspapers through online databases. The article databases listed below are useful for finding information on most topics as well as current and controversial issues. Look under Databases by Subject to find a listing of additional subject databases by academic discipline.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals. (NVCC) - Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS) - Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes U.S. History reference articles, periodical articles, images, and primary documents. (NVCC) - World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes world history reference articles, periodical articles, historical maps, primary documents, audio and video. (NVCC) - Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
Article Databases Search Tips
1. Select the most important 2-4 words related to your topic.
2. Put the word AND between each new word.
bullying AND schools AND prevention
3. Use quotation marks ( " " ) around two or more words; this tells the database to look for the words together, as a phrase.
"higher education" AND tuition
4. Look for additional keywords or subjects offered in the article record or subject listing.
5. Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.