Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Online Encyclopedias
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowFully-searchable collection of authoritative encyclopedia articles. (NVCC)
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window(Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) includes full-text encyclopedias, handbooks, and other sources for multidisciplinary research. (VIVA, NVCC)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowMore than 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries and reference books. (VIVA)
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowContains essays and criticism from encyclopedias and books examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history. Also includes full-length videos of classic plays, information on literary characters, and more. (NVCC)
- Salem Press Literature This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of critical surveys of the works of over 700 authors. Also includes Masterplots, a collection of short plot summaries and critical evaluations of major works of literature. (NVCC)
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowOver 8,000 articles by top scholars that focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American history and culture. Also includes images and primary sources. (NVCC)
- Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new windowLook for BIOGRAPHIES and TOPIC & WORK OVERVIEWS
- Scribner Writers Online This link opens in a new windowCritical essays, author biographies, and work overviews. (VIVA)
Why to Use Reference Books
An encyclopedia is a type of reference book. Use a reference book to:
- Define important vocabulary words related to your topic,
- Find a basic overview and main issues related to your topic,
- Find references to additional resources, and
- Discover important background information related to your topic.
You will typically not use a reference book or encyclopedia as a source in your research. The information in these sources is for your own background knowledge.