Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Useful Websites
- Guide to Finding Data on the InternetCollection of websites to aid in collecting and finding data.
- Statistics Every Writer Should KnowGuide to statistics from the same author as the Guide to Finding Data on the Internet.
- Wikipedia Portal: Current EventsBe careful using Wikipedia, as the information provided may not be verified.
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg is a collection of over 50,000 free digitized books. All titles included in the collection are either in the public domain or have the approval of the copyright holder. You do not need to register or create an account to access the collection.
- The Internet Public Library (IPL2) Literary CriticismThe ipl Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period. The collection is not inclusive of all the work on the web, nor does it plan to be. The sites are selected with some thought to their overall usefulness.
- Academy of American PoetsSearch more than 3,000 biographies of contemporary and classic poets.
- Goodreads
This website allows users to freely search its database of books, annotations, and reviews. Users can sign up and register books to create their own library catalogs and reading lists.
How to Evaluate Websites
Search Google for your topic keywords. Look for government, education, and/or organization webpages as well as news/magazine publications. Be cautious if using Wikipedia as the content cannot be verified.
Before using information found on a webpage, consider the following criteria to evaluate its credibility.
- Who is the author?
- What are his/her qualifications?
- Why was the website created?
- When was it last updated?
- How reliable is the information?