Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Article Databases
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCitations and full-text journal articles. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. (VIVA)
- APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycArticles, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. (VIVA)
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe APA PsycInfo database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. (VIVA)
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete covers all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. It provides indexing for over 1,800 journals, as well as full-text for over 900 journals, 81 books, and numerous education-related conference papers. (VIVA)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
anorexia AND control
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"eating disorders" AND control
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple endings of one word. Using control* as a search term will include results that refer to control, controls, controlled, controling.
control*
In PsycINFO, limit results by Methodology or Age Group in the "Only Show Content Where" box:
Where's the Rest of the Article?
Sometimes an article database, such as Academic Search Complete or PsycINFO, only provides a citation for an article but not the complete text. NOVA might have the complete text of the article in a different database, though. Click here to learn how to find out.