Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Search the Library Catalog
Library Catalog Search Tips
- For more results than just books, click on Advanced Search or EVERYTHING. This includes books, articles, videos, and encyclopedia (reference) articles.
The library catalog is also available on the library home page: nvcc.edu/library
- Select the fewest words possible to type into the search box -- just the ones most important to your topic.
What is the value of a college degree?
- Type AND between each new word or idea. For example:
college degree AND value
- Put quotation marks (" ") around phrases. For example:
"community college" AND degree AND value
- Use synonyms and related terms. For example:
college degree AND valuable
college degree AND debt
"community college" AND degree AND success
"community college" AND degree AND employment
- Use filters to refine your list of results:
- Type of Source: Peer-reviewed journals, Newspaper Articles, Books, etc.
- Publication Date
- Location (e.g., a campus or Full Text Online)
Top Databases for ENG 112
These databases are included in the Library Catalog "Everything" search, but by using the individual databases you will get more powerful search options and can also opt to search just within literature-related databases.
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowHas over 1800 journals that cover all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
- Literary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new windowGood choice for researching Kindred. Includes literature criticism and reference material on literature and authors.
- Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new windowGood choice for researching SHORT STORIES. Collection of literary criticism, excerpted from books and journals, on poetry, short stories, drama and Shakespeare. If the article is not in a good format for reading, click on the "Download" icon to view it as a .pdf.(NVCC)
Search Tips:
- Select the fewest words possible to type into the search box -- just the ones most important to your topic.
- Type AND between each new word or idea. For example:
Kindred AND time
Sui Sin Far AND "in the land of the free"
Chitra Divakaruni AND stories