Literature Databases
These databases are included in the Library Catalog "All" search, but by using the individual databases you will get more powerful search options and can also opt to search just within literature-related databases.
To find scholarly journal articles only, be sure to check a box titled "refereed", "scholarly" or "peer reviewed" journals.
-
Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowGood choice for novels, such as Hate U Give or Kindred. Includes literature criticism and reference material on literature and authors. Combines the content of Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Online, and Scribner Authors Online.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowOffers 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, and others. (VIVA)
-
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowContains essays and criticism from encyclopedias and books examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history. Also includes full-length videos of classic plays, information on literary characters, and more. (NVCC)
-
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new windowGood choice for researching short stories. Collection of literary criticism, excerpted from books and journals, on poetry, short stories, drama and Shakespeare. If the article is not in a good format for reading, click on the "Download" icon to view it as a .pdf.(NVCC)
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 ideas related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
hate u give
hate u give AND activism
hate u give AND social justice