Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Useful Links
- PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database From Australia.... "developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy".
- REHABDATA (Research database) NARIC's searchable literature database on disability and rehabilitation. More than 120,000 documents are abstracted in this database. NARIC adds approximately 4,000 items to REHABDATA each year, including 1,000 international research documents.
- Disability Resources Premier site for disabilities information, current issues, extensive listings of all topics
- DO-IT Disability Related Resources on the Internet
- MEDLINEPlus (National Library of Medicine) -- Health topics, Drug information, Dictionaries, Directories,Government publications, newsletters, and references for the consumer and professional.
- National Rehabilitation Information Center The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR). We collect, catalog, and disseminate the articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by NIDILRR.
- Physical Therapist Online Web communication, continuing education, information resources, jobs and product links.
- Physical Therapy Journal Includes information specifically for the Physical Therapist Assistant. Also available in Gale Health and Medicine database.
- Physical Therapy Web An example of a physio "ring" site: Texts & journals, PT schools, PT organizational activities, diseases & injuries, E-lists & chat, PT related sites.
- PTNow PTNow is a website that provides clinical resources for physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, and students. All you need is an APTA membership and you have FREE access to all the resources.
Health Statistics
NOTE: Many government and organizational websites include statistical information and/or other research.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Statistics on social, political, and economic conditions in the United States. (NVCC)
- Hospital Compare Compare the quality of care that hospitals provide. It provides a list of U.S. hospitals which includes hospital demographics (location, hospital type) and 44 quality-of-care measures.
How to Evaluate Websites - Quick Tips
Evaluate websites that have information you would like to use in your assignments.
Look on each website for an "About Us" page to answer some of the following questions:
- Who is the author?
- What are his/her qualifications?
- Why was the website created?
- When was it last updated?
- How reliable is the information?
Better Googling
|
|
("climate change" OR "global warming") AND sea level site:.gov |
|
174,000 results |
|
|
|
|
|
|
How does climate change affect sea level? |
|
3,150,000 results |
Here's how to craft a better search to get fewer and more relevant results:
- Identify the main ideas in your research question.
How does climate change affect sea level? - Connect the main ideas with AND.
climate change AND sea level - Use quotation marks around 2 or more words that need to be together.
"climate change" AND "sea level" - Use OR between synonyms/related terms.
("climate change" OR "global warming") AND sea level - Limit your search to a specific domain, such as .edu, .gov, or .org.
("climate change" OR "global warming") AND sea level site:.gov
More information on advanced Google searching and Google Scholar.
Wikipedia and Academic Research
|
How Wikipedia CAN be useful in the beginning stages of research:
Why NOT to use Wikipedia for academic research: X The accuracy and authority of a Wikipedia article cannot be verified. |
