Recommended Article Databases
- ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
- EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new windowHas magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, and ebooks on a wide range of topics.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS) Filter to ACADEMIC JOURNALS, NEWS, or MAGAZINES.
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 ideas related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new word or idea; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
obesity AND children AND schools
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in a specific way.
"junk food" AND obesity AND schools
Use the asterisk (*) to truncate a word; this tells the database to look for all words that have the same base. In the example below, search results would include "risk," "risks," "risky," and "risked."
"coronary artery disease" AND angioplasty AND risk*
Why Use a Magazine, Journal or Newspaper Article?
Magazines, journals and newspapers:
- Provide detailed information about a specific aspect of a topic.
- Report on events, issues or scholarly research.
- Are good sources for current or recent information.
Magazines, journals and newspapers typically do NOT provide a summary or overview of a topic.
Why can't I just use Google to find articles?
This video by Yavapai College Library in Prescott, Arizona demonstrates the different types of information found in Google versus library databases. The video also shows the special features of databases and why you can find better information in library databases.
Press the 
icon located in the bottom right corner to watch the video in fullscreen mode.