LibGuides: Dual Enrollment Students: Guide to Library Resources & Services: Articles

Need Help?

For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.

Article Databases

NOVA Libraries subscribes to magazines, journals and newspapers through online databases. The article databases listed below are useful for finding information on most topics as well as current and controversial issues. Look under Databases by Subject to find a listing of additional subject databases by academic discipline.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
Coverage includes over 8,914 journals and magazines dating back to 1887.
Subjects include: Animal science; Anthropology; Astronomy; Biology; Chemistry; Engineering; Ethnic and multicultural studies; General science; Geography; Geology; Law; Mathematics; Music; Pharmaceutical sciences; Physics; Psychology; Religion and philosophy; Science and technology; Veterinary science; Women's studies; Zoology.
ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Large collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Detailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)

More Databases by Subject

Article Databases Search Tips

1. Select the most important 2-4 concepts related to your topic.

2. Put the word AND between each new word.

bullying AND schools AND prevention

3. Use quotation marks ( " " ) around two or more words; this tells the database to look for the words together, as a phrase.

"higher education" AND tuition

4. Look for additional keywords or subjects offered in the article record or subject listing.

5. Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.

Off Campus Access to Library Resources

Off campus access to the library catalog, article databases, and eBooks is available to all current NOVA students, faculty and staff. You will be prompted to log in through MyNOVA.

You can look up your MyNOVA username and password here.
If you are unable to login or are having problems accessing a database, please contact the IT Help Desk.