Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Search the Library Catalog
eBooks
Here are a few places you can find eBooks, just remember that you will have to login with your myNOVA username and password.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of eBooks curated by NOVA librarians on a variety of different subjects. eBooks can be accessed in the browser or downloaded for offline use. (NVCC)
- Nursing eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMore than 800 Nursing and Healthcare ebooks updated quarterly. Includes clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles, this collection provides researchers the information they need to provide outstanding care. (VCCS)
- Ovid: Books This link opens in a new windowA collection of e-books for nursing. Browse books individually or search across the entire collection. Searchable in the library catalog. (NVCC)
- R2 Library This link opens in a new windowThe R2 Digital Library is a collection of more than 800 eBooks featuring a
comprehensive selection of medical, nursing and allied health titles. (NVCC) - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes e-books, encyclopedias and journal articles in the Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health and Social Sciences & Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just books, reference, or journals. (VIVA)
- Salem Press Health This link opens in a new windowA full-text database that provides access to eBook versions of Salem Health print titles that are owned at NOVA Libraries. (NVCC)
Sample Searches
Sample Searches:
| radiation AND tumor |
Use AND between two or more terms to find materials with all the terms. Searching for radiation AND tumor will only include books that have both radiation and tumor in their contents.
|
| cancer OR malignancy |
Use OR between similar terms. Searching for cancer OR malignancy will find books that refer to either term.
|
| "radiation therapy" |
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around specific phrases such as "radiation therapy" to find the words in that specific order.
|
| malignan* |
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple endings of one word. Using malignan* as a search term will include results that refer to malignant or malignancy. |
Textbooks on Reserve
Did you know that you can find some of your textbooks at the library? Stop by the desk and see if your professor provided a copy for you to use.
When You Find a Book in the Library Catalog...
...Write down the book's Call Number. The call number is basically the book's address, and is what you will use to find the book on the shelf.
Learn More About Call Numbers and Finding Books
(eBooks do not have call numbers. You will view them online.)