Biomedical Databases
Here you will find databases containing scholarly, peer-reviewed articles about transcultural healthcare, cultural competence, health and diverse populations.
- CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature- EBSCO) Over 1400 full text journals representing many medical disciplines. The most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. Search options include peer-reviewed journal articles, evidence-based care plans, quick lessons, patient teaching materials, case studies, continuing education units (CEU), and more. (VCCS)
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) Offers full text peer-reviewed nursing and allied health journals, magazines, and newsletters, and multimedia resources such as audio files and videos of medical procedures and live surgeries.
- Health and Wellness (Gale) Key features include reference material, full text health and medical journals, pamphlets, videos, drug guides, recommended websites, and the Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus Search the phrase "culturally competent" to see all the resources for culturally competent care.
- Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) Covers complementary and alternative health care and wellness with full text articles from 180 international journals and reports.
- PubMed The world’s pre-eminent health sciences database. A free resource that allows you to search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) Over 400 peer-reviewed, full text journals representing many medical disciplines; strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary and Lexi-PALS Drug Guide, a collection of drug patient education sheets.
- APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) APA PsycArticles, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. (VIVA)
- MedicLatina (EBSCO) This Spanish language database contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. (VIVA)
- Salud en Espanol (EBSCO) Spanish language database, with everyday health care information from medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, fact sheets, and magazine articles. (VIVA)
Sociological and Social Sciences Databases
- SocINDEX with Full Text This resource offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Contains nearly 900 full-text journals.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. (NVCC)
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Select Journals
- International Journal of Indigenous Health (IJIH)The International Journal of Indigenous Health (IJIH) was established to advance knowledge and understanding to improve Indigenous health. IJIH is peer-reviewed, online, and open-access.
Search Tips
Select the most important 2-3 terms related to your topic. Put the word AND between each new term; this tells the database to look for resources with ALL your terms.
healthcare access AND minorities
Use quotation marks ( " " ) around phrases (two or more words); this tells the database to look for the words in that specific order.
"cultural competence" AND "mental health"
Use an asterisk ( * ) to find multiple endings of one word. Using assess* as a search term will include results that refer to assess, assesses, assessed, assessment, assessments, etc.
assess*