Need Help?
Articles
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the discipline listing to find a list of relevant databases on your topic. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
- Do not enter complete sentences in the search box. Use relevant topics or keywords to perform your search.
- Put the word AND between search terms; mental heath AND college students.
- Connect related terms using OR; college costs OR tuition OR student debt.
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered.
- Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
-
Chronicle of Higher Education (Web Edition) This link opens in a new windowNews and information on Higher Education. Includes videos, podcasts, and the current annual Almanac of Higher Education. Other features include interactive tools for career development and job searching. (NVCC)
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowDetailed reports on issues in the news. Reports include background information, chronology of important events, pro/con section, outlook, and more. (VCCS)
-
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete covers all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. It provides indexing for over 1,800 journals, as well as full-text for over 900 journals, 81 books, and numerous education-related conference papers. (VIVA)
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
-
ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
