Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Research the Culture
1. Look for information on the person’s country in the A-Z World Culture database below.
2. Use additional databases and/or the library catalog to find two other sources that relate to an aspect of the person’s culture that may affect their perspective.
A-Z World Culture
- AtoZ: World Culture This link opens in a new windowA wealth of reference information about the nations of the world. Includes information about demographics, climate, culture and travel. (NVCC)
- Select your country on the map or by the country listing.
- The Country Overview provides access to multiple cultural and social topics.
- Look for the 'Cite this Document' link.
Additional Databases & Search Tips
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA) - MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference books, magazines, journals, newspapers and primary documents. Includes an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Covers a variety of topics. (VIVA) - ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
Search Tips
- Search by subject terms for "culture and customs" AND "name of country" or "name of country" AND "social life and customs".
- You can also search by keyword for a related topic such as arranged marriage or marriage, family, parenthood, education, etc.
- Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
Search the Library Catalog
Library Catalog Search Tips
Search for books on your topic in the library catalog.
- Search by keyword for "culture and customs" AND "name of country" or "name of country" AND "social life and customs".
- You can also search by keyword for a related topic such as arranged marriage, family, parenthood, etc.
- Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
- eBooks are accessible through the catalog. To limit your results to eBooks, look for the "Availability" filter from your search results page and select "Full Text Online". Within the eBook record, click the link for 'Full text available at:' to access the eBook. Log in with your MyNOVA username and password when prompted.
Suggested Book & eBook Series
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
Culture Smart! SeriesEach guide includes concise chapters on the local customs, traditions and values of the country's inhabitants, and crucially, the key historical and cultural events that have shaped them. There are sections on social and business etiquette, tips on communication, both verbal and non-verbal, and advice on how to be a good guest.
CultureShock! SeriesCultureShock! is a dynamic, indispensable series of guides for travellers looking to truly understand the countries they are visiting, working in or moving to. Each title explains the country's customs, traditions and social and business etiquette in a lively, informative style. CultureShock! authors, all of whom have experienced the joys and pitfalls of cultural adaptation, are ideally placed to provide warm and helpful advice to those who seek to integrate seamlessly into diverse cultures.
Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook by A compilation of U.S. government reports on contemporary political and economic conditions, government personnel and policies, political parties, religions, history, education, press, radio and TV, climate, and other characteristics of selected countries of the world; together with travel alerts, passport and visa information, world health information for travelers, and customs and duty tips for returning residents.
