LibGuides: ENG 112: College Composition II (Cook-Loudoun): Articles

Need Help?

For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.

Locate newspaper, magazine, scholarly journal, and encyclopedia articles through library databases.

Go to Databases by Subject to explore databases in subject areas related to your topic. You can also perform searches in the databases listed below.
Search by topic or keyword.
Notice options to print, email, and cite articles.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
Coverage includes over 8,914 journals and magazines dating back to 1887.
Subjects include: Animal science; Anthropology; Astronomy; Biology; Chemistry; Engineering; Ethnic and multicultural studies; General science; Geography; Geology; Law; Mathematics; Music; Pharmaceutical sciences; Physics; Psychology; Religion and philosophy; Science and technology; Veterinary science; Women's studies; Zoology.
ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Large collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Essays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Detailed reports on controversial issues in the news. (VCCS)

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts. (VIVA)
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. (VIVA)
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Reference books, magazines, journals, newspapers and primary documents. Includes an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Covers a variety of topics. (VIVA)
Associates Programs Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journals on subjects commonly taught in community colleges, including accounting, agriculture, automotive, child care, cosmetology, culinary arts and food service, forestry, graphic arts, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. (VIVA)