Articles
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. See Databases by Subject and then select Communication Studies, Film & Theatre (CST) or Information Technology, or see links below.
Search using keywords including synonyms related to your topic, and notice options to print, email, and cite articles.
Example keywords:
- [film name in quotation marks] ex: "Wall-E"
- [film release year if needed; helpful for remakes] ex: 2008
- motion picture or film or movie or cinema
- [film element] for example:
- character or characters
- plot or storyline
- scene or scenes
- visual elements or visuals or cinematography
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Journal articles related to communication and mass media studies. (VIVA)
-
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Coverage includes the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It includes indexing, abstracts, and full text for academic journals, professional publications, and reference sources. Subject areas include engineering, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social and professional context. (VIVA)
-
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Indexes 300 of the world's academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. In addition to the indexing, this resource provides full-text access to many of it's journals. (NVCC)
-
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window (Formerly Gale Fine Arts & Music Collection) covers 150 full-text journals that supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. (NVCC)
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
-
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Reference books, magazines, journals, newspapers and primary documents. Includes an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Covers a variety of topics. (VIVA)
-
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window U.S. and international newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts. (VIVA)
-
ProQuest Research Library & Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Large collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers, including the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and many regional newspapers. (NVCC)
-
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Science topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
Why can't I just use Google?
This video by Yavapai College Library in Prescott, Arizona demonstrates the different types of information found in Google versus library databases.