Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Top Databases for ENG 112
- EBSCOhost – All Databases This link opens in a new windowThese databases have ebooks and also articles from magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers. They cover a range of topics, including health, psychology, business, and education.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes many types of sources in the Health and Social Sciences, Business, and Humanities fields. After doing your search, you can limit your results to just book chapters, review articles, or research articles. There are also encyclopedia articles in this database, which you can use as extra/support sources, but won't be counted towards your required sources.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowArticles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
- ProQuest - All Databases This link opens in a new windowThese databases have ebooks and magazine, scholarly journal, and newspaper articles. Newspapers include the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and USA Today. The articles cover a range of topics, including education, health, sociology, biology, and economics.
Database Search Tips:
Select the most important 2-3 ideas related to your topic. These are your Keywords.
Type AND between each new keyword or idea.
brain AND storytelling
neuroscience AND storytelling
education AND storytelling
pedagogy AND storytelling
"single story" AND stereotypes
"single story" AND storytelling
Use quotation marks for phrases.
"single story" "mental health"
Use synonyms and other related terms.
storytelling AND "mental health"
storytelling AND depression
storytelling AND anxiety
cognitive narratology
- Use FILTERS to refine your list of results:
- Type of Source: Peer-reviewed journals, Books, Book Chapters, Magazines, Newspapers
- Exclude Dissertations
- Publication Date
- Full Text
- Type of Source: Peer-reviewed journals, Books, Book Chapters, Magazines, Newspapers