Need Help?
Article Databases
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under English (Literature) to find a list of relevant databases on your topic. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
- Do not enter complete sentences in the search box. Use relevant topics or keywords to perform your search.
- Search for literary criticism regarding the work itself and/or the author, as well as the historical era in which the work was written.
- Put the word AND between search terms; women AND feminism AND literature
- Connect related terms using OR; literature OR fiction OR novels OR narrative
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered.
- Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
-
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowContains essays and criticism from encyclopedias and books examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history. Also includes full-length videos of classic plays, information on literary characters, and more. (NVCC)
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
-
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) This link opens in a new windowCollection of literary criticism, excerpted from books and journals, on poetry, short stories, drama and Shakespeare. If the article is not in a good format for reading, click on the "Download" icon to view it as a .pdf.(NVCC)
-
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFull-text biographies and critical analyses of writers and their work from a variety of periods and disciplines. (VIVA)
-
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global literatures and languages. (VIVA)
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowOffers 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, and others. (VIVA)
-
Salem Press Literature This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of critical surveys of the works of over 700 authors. Also includes Masterplots, a collection of short plot summaries and critical evaluations of major works of literature. (NVCC)
