Need Help?
How to Use Reference Books
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and reference books are great resources for gathering background information on your topic, as well as for:
- Defining important vocabulary words related to your topic.
- Finding a basic overview and main issues related to your topic.
- Finding references to additional resources.
These sources are useful for initial research and gaining a broader understanding of your topic; however, they should not be included in your works cited or reference list.
Reference Databases
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 500 reference books on a variety of topics. (NVCC)
Credo Reference also includes Mind Map, a visual tool can help you discover connections between key terms by mapping close relationships. -
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowMore than 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries and reference books. (VIVA)
Literature Databases
Below are some key databases for identifying background information in literature. Some of these databases also contain critical essays.
-
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowBiographical information on over 380,000 people from throughout world history; from encyclopedias and news articles. (NVCC)
-
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowContains essays and criticism from encyclopedias and books examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history. Also includes full-length videos of classic plays, information on literary characters, and more. (NVCC)
-
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFull-text biographies and critical analyses of writers and their work from a variety of periods and disciplines. (VIVA)
-
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowOver 8,000 articles by top scholars that focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American history and culture. Also includes images and primary sources. (NVCC)
-
Salem Press Literature This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of critical surveys of the works of over 700 authors. Also includes Masterplots, a collection of short plot summaries and critical evaluations of major works of literature. (NVCC)
