Need Help?
For individual research help, schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Library Databases
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under the category Geography/GIS (GEO) to find a list of relevant databases. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
- Remember not to write sentences in the search box. Search by topic, keyword, or region.
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered. Also make sure you look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
Suggested Databases
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowEssays, magazines, journals, newspapers, statistics, primary sources; focus is on controversial issues. (VCCS)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
- National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new windowNational Geographic Magazine, 1888 to the present. Includes searchable images. (NVCC)
- AtoZ: World Culture This link opens in a new windowA wealth of reference information about the nations of the world. Includes information about demographics, climate, culture and travel. (NVCC)
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowScience topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles, images, videos and detailed experiments. (VCCS)
Suggested Topics
- Climate change and its effects (issues: drought; torrential rains; warming of northern areas)
- Conflict area (issues, causes)
- COVID and ongoing economic implications (supply issues)
- Development (issues: literacy rates; poverty rates; GDP)
- Disease (issues of communicable diseases and their spread/ non-communicable diseases and their spread)
- Energy Supply (issues)
- Environmental issues
- Ethnic groups (issues of preservation of cultural heritage; of language; of territory; of self-governing)
- Female empowerment (gender or equality issues)
- Food production (GMO foods and issues; organically grown food and issues; non-organically grown food and issues)
- Fresh water (over-abundance, scarcity)
- Human trafficking (issues)
- Industries and economic implications (issues: outsourcing; child work)
- Migration; migration flows
- Natural resources and economic implications (problem: over-reliance on extractive industries)
- Northern Sea Route (along the Arctic) and issues
- Population density (issues: food scarcity; clean water scarcity)
- Terrorism
- Tourism (impact on landscape and people)
- Trafficking of illegal substances (also: human tissues)
- Transportation modes (water, rail, roads) and resultant issues
- Urban areas (issues: over-crowdedness; slums; location in low-lying coastal areas)
- Urbanization (growth of megacities and their issues)