Need Help?
Phone or Email This link opens in a new window
FAQ This link opens in a new window
Video Tutorials This link opens in a new window
Make an Appointment This link opens in a new window
Articles
The best way to locate articles is through the library databases. Go to Databases by Subject and look under History (HIS) to find a list of relevant databases on your topic. You can also perform a search in the databases below.
- Do not enter complete sentences in the search box. Use relevant topics or keywords to perform your search.
- Put the word AND between search terms; women AND ancient Egypt.
- Connect related terms using OR; daily life OR everyday life OR daily activities.
- Look for additional keywords or subjects offered.
- Look for toolbars that provide print, email, and citation options.
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary database which offers information in many areas of academic study. This database supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing access to journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (VIVA)
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals; does not include the most recent few years. (NVCC)
-
World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowIncludes world history reference articles, periodical articles, historical maps, primary documents, audio and video. (NVCC)
-
Daily Life through History This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, cross-disciplinary resource of social history from ancient times to the present including books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more; exploring how others lived and live their lives, and how their lives shaped ours. Full-text. (NVCC)
-
World History Modern EraCovers a broad range of modern history topics in depth, includes images, videos and provides easy-to-navigate access to authoritative information for research purposes.
-
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)Citations and full-text journal articles. Subject coverage includes world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. (VIVA)