It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Streaming Video: A guide for instructors and instructional designers: Overview
A guide to finding and using streaming video for use in courses. Questions? Email email@example.com
Academic videos from many disciplines, including history, health, psychology, music, business, art, science, law, literature and education. Link to the video, embed it, or create custom segments for your courses.
Educational videos on a variety of topics including humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, technical education, family and consumer sciences, careers and job search, guidance and counseling and archival films and newsreels. Create your own clips of longer videos.
Kanopy works like a catalog of films available for licensing by the libraries. Check to see if we have already licensed the film you need for your course. If the film is not licensed yet, you may request it. Requests are approved based on course need and funds available. See the Kanopy tab on this guide for more information.
Swank works like a catalog of films available for licensing by the libraries. Check to see if we have already licensed the film you need for your course. If the film is not licensed yet, you may request it. Requests are approved based on course need and funds available. See the Swank tab on this guide for more information. Important: Swank licenses cover viewing by individual students enrolled in your course and groups of students enrolled in your course.
Three video collections through Sage Video: SAGE Counseling & Psychotherapy, Criminology & Criminal Justice, and Nursing Video Collections. (VIVA)
The Counseling & Psychotherapy Collection includes over 130 hours of video and addresses a wide range of academic and practitioner issues through tutorials, interviews, and demonstrations. The Criminology & Criminal Justice Collection includes over 120 hours of video covering all branches of the criminal justice system. The Nursing Collection includes over 75 hours of video and features content aligned to support traditional baccalaureate- and masters-level nursing programs.
Why use streaming video?
NOVA libraries provide access to streaming video through subscription databases and individual film licenses, where available.
You can place a link to a film in your Canvas course for students to view in or out of class.
All films are accessible on and off campus.
All films have captions and/or a transcript.
Some databases allow you to create custom clips/segments for your classes.